My Tribute to Canada: Nanaimo Bars

Standard

I recently returned from my first trip to Toronto Canada and I loved it!  The city was clean, friendly, and very easy to maneuver.  I only wish I would have had more time to explore. And try famous desserts.

Since returning, I have researched famous Canadian desserts and the Nanaimo bar seems to be the most popular.  Legend (and by that I mean Wikipedia) has it that a woman submitted the recipe for publication in the Cowichan Women’s Institute Cookbook and it took off from there.  The Nanaimo bar requires no baking and really was an easy and delicious treat to make to pay tribute to the wonderful experience I had in Toronto.  I found the “official” recipe on the Nanaimo City website.

Here is the recipe:

Nanaimo Bar

Bottom Layer

*½ cup unsalted butter (European style cultured)
*¼ cup sugar
*5 tbsp. cocoa
*1 egg beaten
*1 ¼ cups graham wafer crumbs
*½ c. finely chopped almonds
*1 cup coconut

Melt first 3 ingredients in top of double boiler. Add egg and stir to cook and thicken. Remove from heat. Stir in crumbs, coconut, and nuts. Press firmly into an ungreased 8″ x 8″ pan.

Second Layer

*½ cup unsalted butter
*2 Tbsp. and 2 Tsp. cream
*2 Tbsp. vanilla custard powder
*2 cups icing sugar (confectioners)

(I planned on substituting vanilla pudding powder for the custard powder because, but forgot it at the store- so instead, I used banana pudding powder- tasted just fine!)

Cream butter, cream, custard powder, and icing sugar together well. Beat until light. Spread over bottom layer.

I have seen several variations of flavoring used for second layer so let your imagination go wild.  Some popular flavors seem to be peppermint and peanut butter.  Nanaimo Bar Make-Off anyone?

Third Layer

*4 squares semi-sweet chocolate (1 oz. each)
*2 Tbsp. unsalted butter

Melt chocolate and butter over low heat. Cool. Once cool, but still liquid, pour over second layer and chill in refrigerator.

CONFESSION: I don’t have a double boiler.  There I said it.  I was a little ashamed but then I just googled how to improvise and I came up with a wonderful solution.  I used the woman-made double boiler for the bottom and top layers.

Another tip I used on this recipe was to line the 8×8 pan with aluminum foil so that I can just lift it out of the pan- makes cutting so much easier

After all was cut, I took a taste and I was pleased with how it turned out.  Very easy and budget-friendly to make- just layer it all together- chill and enjoy!

Cheers to you Canada! Thanks for a great week, eh!

Leave a comment